Environmental Microbiology and Biotechnology

Section in Department of Environmental Science, Aarhus University

Danish name Mikrobiel økologi og mikrobiologi
Head of section Lars Hestbjerg Hansen
Section employees See list
Physical location AU Roskilde
Research keywords Pathogenic microorganisms, aero-microbiology, microbial ecosystem services, metabolomics, resource management

Section employees

NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Abbas, NailaVisiting PhD studentnailagcuf@envs.au.dk7411, B2.21
Aggerbeck, Marie RønneVisiting Researchermrag@envs.au.dk7410, A2.41
Anwar, Muhammad ZohaibPhD Studentmzanwar@envs.au.dk7410, A2.41
Bang-Andreasen, TokeResearch Assistanttba@envs.au.dk+45871589527410, A2.41
Begovic, TanjaLaboratory Techniciantab@envs.au.dk+45871586147411, B2.18
Browne, Patrick DenisPostdocpadb@envs.au.dk7410, A2.41
Carstens, Alexander BythPhD Studentaca@envs.au.dk7411, B2.06
Djurhuus, Amaru Indigo Miranda San MartinGuest studentamma@envs.au.dk7411, B2.06
Ellegaard-Jensen, LeaResearcherleael@envs.au.dk+45871586167411, B2.27
Feld, LouisePostdocfeld@envs.au.dk7411, B2.23
Frederiksen, LiselotteLaboratory Technicianlfr@envs.au.dk+45871584987410, A2.39
Gobbi, AlexPhD Studentalgo@envs.au.dk+45871585087411, B2.06
Gosewinkel, Ulrich BaySenior Researcherulrich.gosewinkel@envs.au.dk+45871586177412, C2.06
Hansen, Lars HestbjergHead of section, Professorlhha@envs.au.dk+45871585887411, B2.12
Hendriksen, Niels BohseSenior Researchernbh@envs.au.dk+45871584737411, B2.25
Hylling, OlePhD Studentohy@envs.au.dk+45871586167411
Jang, JaeyounPhD Studentjjang@envs.au.dk+45871586137411, B2.21
Johansen, AndersSenior Researcherajo@envs.au.dk+45871585867411, B2.10
Jørgensen, Tue SparholtVisiting Researchertsj@envs.au.dk7410, A2.41
Kot, WitoldResearcherwk@envs.au.dk+45871589527410, A2.45
Kyrkou, IfigeneiaPhD Studentifigeneia.kyrkou@envs.au.dk+45871585087411, B2.06
Nielsen, Tue KjærgaardPostdoctkn@envs.au.dk+45871589527410, A2.41
Olsen, Nikoline S.PhD Studentniso@envs.au.dk7411, B2.23
Palmann, Olivia ColbergStudentoc@envs.au.dk
Qin, JiayiPhD Studentjiqi@bios.au.dkB1.16
Raspor Dall'Olio, LucijaResearch Assistantlurdo@envs.au.dk
Thane, TinaLaboratory Techniciantth@envs.au.dk+45871586147411, B2.18
Wang, AimeiResearch Assistantaimei.wang@food.au.dk+4587158347
Winding, AnneDeputy Head of Department, senior Researcheraw@envs.au.dk+45871586157411, B2.16
Zeng, YonghuiJunior Fellowzeng@envs.au.dk+45871537761630, 207
Foto: Britta Munter, DMU

Section research areas

The section has expertise in a number of specific areas within microbial ecology: Environmental risk analysis of microorganisms and sustainable ecobiotechnology, including GMO; human exposure to microorganisms in the environment; environmental assessment using microbiological indicators; microbial degradation of pollutants and gene exchange among microorganisms. The research activities involve a number of methods for measuring different parameters at the level of individual species - for example, the presence of the species in the atmosphere, its fate in the environment and foods, and the interactions between species both within and between trophic levels. Similarly, different forms of diversity (genetic and functional) are measured in entire microbial populations and used as indicators for soil quality parameters.

The current specific areas of expertise form the platform for fulfilling the future ambitions of the section designed to meet society’s future requirements for research and for knowledge. The following research areas are in focus:

Aeromicrobiology

Incidence, effect and dispersion of microorganisms in the atmosphere.

Pathogenic microorganisms in the environment

This research is at the intersection between microbial ecology and medical microbiology. It examines the role of environment as a habitat for pathogenic microorganisms, and for their spread and exposure to humans.

The role of microorganisms in sustainable recycling

Research into the microbial aspects of intelligent recycling of the elements N, P and SCin waste streams.

Scientific results

You will find information on the scientific results of research and advisory work carried out by the section via the following links:

Available Bachelor and Master Projects

The Environmental Microbiology and Biotechnology at Aarhus University, Roskilde, offers exciting facilities to students interested in doing their Master's or Bachelor's thesis with us. Our advantages include:

- Expertise in diverse areas of microbiology;

- eDNA center with Illumina MiSeq and NextSeq sequencer;

- Competences in bioinformatics;

- Modern lab;

- International environment.

Click the links below or on the side column to find more information about the projects.

Please contact us, if you have your own idea for a project or would like to know more about us.

- Plasmid encoded phage resistance in Salmonella ‐ battle of two molecular parasites?

- Screening for novel biocontrol agents against plant pathogens

- CRISPR-cas in industrially relevant bacterial strains

- Sampling and characterization of micro-fungi in air

- Collection Device for Bacteria in Air

- Microbial community diversity in agricultural soils with no to low carbon input

- Biochar as a carrier of plant growth promoting bacteria