Atmospheric chemistry and physics

Section in Department of Environmental Science, Aarhus University

Section name Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics
Head of section Ole Hertel (Atmospheric Processes - ATPRO)
Thomas Ellermann (Atmospheric Air Quality - ATAIR)
Section employees See list
Physical location AU Roskilde
Research keywords

Monitoring, AMAP, DANCEA, NOVANA, air pollution measurements, particulate pollution, human exposure to air pollution, nitrogen deposition, air pollution from agriculture, ammonia, Arctic research.


The department maintains a comprehensive set of web pages on air pollution. In particular, there is a subset on monitoring.

Foto/photo: Lise Balsby, Aarhus Universitet

Section research areas

The work carried out in the section Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics focuses on the physical and chemical processes that control the level and trend of air quality development and atmospheric deposition. The section undertakes national air quality monitoring tasks, and it is active in the area of research, consultancy, monitoring and teaching. The research focuses on the impact of air quality on human health, nature, aquatic environment and interaction with climate.

Scientific results

You will find information on the scientific results of research and advisory work carried out by the section via the following links:

Section employees


NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Andersen, Kim, D1.01
Bernberg, Stephan IngemannLaboratory technician and working environment, D1.01
Ellermann, ThomasSenior Researcher - Head of, D1.07
Emborg, Christina FalkLaboratory, D1.10
Hansen, Henriette MLaboratory, D1.15
Hansen, ThomasLaboratory, D1.43
Holmen, Christian SolhaugLaboratory, D1.21
Jacobsen, GitteLaboratory, D1.17
Jensen, TomResearch, D0.37
Keller, RuneAcademic staff, D0.39
Knudsen,, D1.21
Krausz,, D1.45
Lind, SusanneLaboratory, D1.15
Madsen, Henrik W.Laboratory, D1.43
Monies, ChristianAcademic staff, D1.03
Mortensen, KeldIT Staff, D0.39
Nielsen, Ingeborg ElbækMember of Administrative, D0.31
Nordstrøm, ClausAcademic staff, D1.31
Nygaard, JesperMember of Administrative, D1.07
Riedel, JonnaLaboratory, D1.13
Stausgaard, LizziLaboratory, D1.33
Søfting,, D1.43


NameJob titleEmailPhoneBuilding
Bossi, RossanaSenior, C1.14
Christoffersen, ChristelLaboratory, C2.18
Hertel, OleProfessor - Head of, D1.21
Jensen, BjarneLaboratory, D1.45
Lange, RobertPhD
Massling, AndreasSenior, C1.16
Nøjgaard, Jacob KlenøSenior, C1.12
Olsen, YuliaPhD
Peker, LütfiGuest, C2.16
Poulsen, Maria BechMember of Administrative, D0.17
Skov,, D1.09
Sørensen, Lise, 028
Zou, ZhouxingVisiting, D1.27
Ørby, Pia ViufVisiting, D1.27